Cannot edit text fields in Front End

Cannot edit text fields in Front End

Postby AustralianRobotics » Thu Mar 22, 2012 10:05 pm

Using Win 7 executable. Everything works ok, but cannot change any values in text fields.
AustralianRobotics
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2012 9:55 pm

Re: Cannot edit text fields in Front End

Postby AustralianRobotics » Fri Mar 23, 2012 1:46 am

Tried again in Ubuntu Linux and running the PDE file from Processing works fine. No cursor so a little confusing, but to change values:

1) Click on the field
2) hit "enter" to clear the value
3) type in new value
4) hit SEND_DASH or SAVE_PREFERENCES to send the update to osPID.
AustralianRobotics
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2012 9:55 pm

Re: Cannot edit text fields in Front End

Postby Brett » Fri Mar 23, 2012 11:19 am

Using Win 7 executable. Everything works ok, but cannot change any values in text fields.


interesting. I'm developing on a windows7 box and haven't seen anything like this. can you try this procedure and tell me if it works?

1: click on the field (Setpoint, say)
2: backspace to clear the value
3: type in the new value and hit Enter
4: click the corresponding "Send" button to get the values down into the osPID. for the setpoint this would be Send_Dash.

there may be a big-boy-java front-end in the future. the fact of the matter is that it was far quicker to just port the existing PIDLibrary front-end, than to start over from scratch.
User avatar
Brett
Site Admin
 
Posts: 99
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 10:05 pm
Location: Boston

Re: Cannot edit text fields in Front End

Postby AustralianRobotics » Fri Mar 23, 2012 9:17 pm

There is another bug that I cannot reproduce everytime: when I try and click to edit a form field, it becomes a drag and droppable item! And there is no editing allowed on it, but I can drag it around....

Here is a screenshot of it happening:
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/9013257/dragAndDrop.png


Will try and pinpoint where it's happening!
AustralianRobotics
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2012 9:55 pm

Re: Cannot edit text fields in Front End

Postby Brett » Tue Mar 27, 2012 2:44 am

when I try and click to edit a form field, it becomes a drag and droppable item!


this is actually part of the controlp5 library. I haven't looked into turning it off. I believe it's alt+rightclick drag that does it
User avatar
Brett
Site Admin
 
Posts: 99
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 10:05 pm
Location: Boston


Return to Software

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron